The Bucketlist I Just Made Up: Eating From a Food Truck

Yesterday, while waiting for my ferry ride to Ellis Island, I walked along the South Street Seaport looking for a museum and maybe a place to eat. I walked all the way to Old Slip, where the New York City Police Museum was located. This was where the first ever police precinct of New York was located, now converted to a museum. I wanted to learn about the history of this famous profession. (And maybe get my picture taken beside one of their police cars, hihi)    

     Unfortunately, it was not open 😦 But good thing, I saw this food truck parked just alongside it. I’ve been wanting to sample food from a food truck ever since I saw the film Chef, about a passionate chef who starts a food truck business. So I headed straight for it instead. 

You can see the unusual facade of the NYC Police Museum building in the background

I took a look at the menu, found grilled cheese at the top. Grilled cheese? SOLD!!

Milk Truck Classic: Made with Aged Wisconsin Gruyere, cultured butted on Balthazar Levain pullman bread

 

While waiting for my order, here are more customers arriving

 
My goodness, the first bite was outta this world. 

The bread was as toasty, and the cheese as melty and sticky and as rich as it looked in the picture. 

 

You made a first-time visitor very happy. I wish I could be back!

Leave a comment